Annual Assessment Testing Window : Feb 1st - May 31st 

Initial Assessment Test Window: August 28–September 22, 2017


Federal law (Title III of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act) and state law (California Education Code sections 313 and 60810) require that school districts administer a state test of English language proficiency

(1) to newly enrolled students whose primary language is not English and

(2) to students who are English learners as an annual assessment.

For California public school students, this test was previously the California English Language Development Test (CELDT).  California transitioned from the CELDT to the English Language Proficiency Assessments for California(ELPAC). Beginning in 2017-18 the ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency(ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English as indicated on the students Home Language Survey. 

All newly enrolled students whose primary language is not English must take the ELPAC within 30 calendar days after they are enrolled in a California public school for the first time. The Annual ELPAC must also be given once each year to English learners until they are reclassified.

The ELPAC is aligned with California’s 2012 English Language Development Standardsand is comprised of two separate ELP assessments:

  1. Initial Assessment (IA)—an initial identification of students as English learners

  2. Summative Assessment (SA)—an annual summative assessment to measure an English learner's progress in learning English and to identify the student's ELP level

Chart comparing the current CELDT to its successor, ELPAC, as the state ELP assessment in 2018 [ELPAC/CELDT Comparison Chart (Links to an external site.)]

For more information please visit: http://www.elpac.org/ 

Parent ELPAC Fact Sheet (English) / Guia de padres para comprender el ELPAC(Spanish)

ELPAC Practice Exams

What is the purpose of the ELPAC?
The ELPAC has three main purposes:

  • Initial Identification

  • To monitor a student's progress in developing English proficiency

  • To assist in determining proficiency in English and to serve as one criterion for reclassification to RFEP


Who can administer the test?

Only test examiners who are employees of Santa Cruz City Schools, are proficient in speaking English, have received formal ELPAC training, and have completed the test security affidavit may administer the ELPAC.


Do English learners with disabilities take the ELPAC?

Yes. English learners, and newly enrolled students who have a home language other than English, with disabilities must be tested. Students with disabilities who participate in the ELPAC may use variations, accommodations, and/or modifications as specified in their individualized education programs (IEPs) or Section 504 plans. 


Do foreign exchange students take the ELPAC?

Yes. The law does not specify that any student(s) may be exempted.


Do students in transitional kindergarten classes take the ELPAC?

Yes. These students are to take the kindergarten test. All students enrolled in SCCS in the first year of a two-year kindergarten program (i.e. transitional kindergarten), whose primary language is other than English as determined by a home language survey, must be administered the ELPAC within 30 calendar days of enrollment or 60 calendar days prior to instruction, but not before July 1.


Copyright 2017 Santa Cruz City Schools